Banana Bread

I like banana bread – besides being delicious, it has the added advantage of using up all them bananas that are just a little too ripe. I like it plain, I like it toasted and smothered in butter, and perhaps some marmalade.  I just like it – a lot!

I’ve baked banana bread several times, but I never quite settled on that ‘perfect’ recipe until I came across the recipe in Apples for Jam.  I like this recipe because it uses quite a lot of banana.  Most recipes that I’ve found up until now used two or three bananas at the most.  I ended up using five.  Banana-licious!  Happiness! 🙂

This particular loaf lasted all of a day… I think that’s a hint that I need to make more…

What you need: butter, dark brown sugar (I used treacle sugar as it was all I had in the cupboard, but next time me thinks I’ll try good, old-fashioned brown sugar – it’ll probably cream better… the treacle sugar was rather sticky), mashed ripe bananas (lots of it!), beaten eggs, vanilla extract (i.e. vanilla essence), ground cinnamon, salt, plain flour (I used white cake flour), baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, warm milk

How to do it:  Cream the butter and sugar, then add the mashed banana. Add the eggs, vanilla essence, cinnamon, and salt. Sieve in the flour and the baking powder.  Add the bicarbonate of soda to the warm milk, then add this to the bread batter. Pour the batter into a prepared loaf tin, then pop it into the preheated oven and bake. 

Source (i.e. give credit where credit is due): Tessa Kiros’ Apples for Jam

