As I rocked Sophia, my baby girl, to sleep, I remembered a book on my shelf: Romancing the Ordinary – A Year of Simple Splendour by Sarah Ban Breathnach.

The jacket cover reads: ‘Romancing the Ordinary celebrates the sprituality of the senses, seasonally and monthly. Ban Breathnach believes that women are endowed not with five senses but with seven. In addition to rediscovering sight, sound, scent, taste, and touch, readers will come to cherish their sense of “knowing” – a woman’s intuitive sense – and “wonder”, her sense of rapture and revernce. Ban Breathnach encourages each woman to discover what moves her to tears, makes her blood rush to her head, her heart skip a beat, and her soul sigh. By encouraging her to delight in the often overlooked gifts of every day – from the aroma of simmering homemade spaghetti sauce to the sensation of freshly laundered linen against bare skin – Romancing the Ordinary is sure to help every woman fall in love with Life.’

I’d like to fall in love with life… I’ll let you know how it goes.

